Meeting Werner Herzog And Drawing a Blank

I met Werner Herzog yesterday. I came across him standing alone in the CBC atrium. He was waiting for a TIFF-related interview to begin. My heart stopped in my throat. Of all the artists for me to come across during this celebrity-soaked time in Toronto! He is one of my heroes after all. I took a deep breath and stepped towards him.

He graciously accepted my compliments and he signed an autograph (as he signed, I thought “crap, does Herzog even DO autographs?” apparently he does.)

All of his films raced through my mind like a near-death experience. But I failed to come up with a witty remark. How dearly I wanted to make him laugh! How fantastic would it be if somehow he could remember me forever, draw the charicature of Ilka into his travel stories? “Then there was that time I met an uncommon young woman in Toronto…”

It’s been torturing me since I met him. What would YOU have said to Werner if you met him?

Leave a Reply

