2009 TIFF Doc Picks

My head is spinning – not only because I just came up for breath after six weeks of working on a proposal for a stiff competition – but also because I finally read though the Toronto International Film Festival documentary selections… all twenty-seven of them! 

Though I dread going through the song and dance routine that involves getting tickets, I do have a wish-list. Here it is.

Schmatta: Rags to Riches because I love New York City even more than I love clothes.

* Petropolis because Peter Mettler’s “Picture of Light” turned me on to docs all those years ago, and because we danced together once though likely he won’t remember. Promises to be philosophical and gorgeous.

* Bassidji because the filmmaker, Mehran Tamadon, got three years access to the centre of the Iranian fundamentalist Bassidji paramilitary force, and I want to see “behind the curtain” so to speak.

* Cleanflix because I am fascinated with Mormon culture & values, and because Canada is entering copyright reform and I’m interested in all things copyright.

* How to Fold a Flag because I watched “The Hurt Locker” (I know – fiction film!) and loved it and this could be a real-life crossover.

* The Genius Within because it’s about the life and music of Glenn Gould. Crossing my fingers that producer Peter Raymont hits the bullseye with this one.

For the full Real to Reel list, click here.

For a bio on TIFF’s documentary programmer Thom Powers, click here.

Leave a Reply

